Skip to main content

Department Awards

                Annual Department Awards

James C. McChesney Scholarship Award - The student shall be an upper division or graduate student majoring in recreation and park administration with a GPA of 2.5 or above in the major area. Other criteria are leadership potential, work ethic, perceived success as a professional, and financial need.

2018 Winners:  Brittney Viars & Julia Grundy

2017 Winner:   

2016 Winner:   Kimberly Rhodus

2015 Winner:   Geena Neustat

2014 Winner:   Lindsay Dame

2013 Winners: Travis Rawe & Sarah Bellamy

2012 Winner:   Jamie Cook

2011 Winner:   Brittany Toombs

Outstanding Senior Leadership & Academic Excellence Award - For the outstanding senior demonstrating superior performance in class work and showing enthusiasm for and ability in directing and participating in activities of the University, the Department, and the community. This student recipient typically has the highest GPA in the Department.

2018 Winner:  Mary Gray

2017 Winner:

2016 Winner:  Alyssa Podskalan

2015 Winner:  Chelsey Lienhart

2014 Winner:  Polly Whalen

2013 Winner:  Justin Kurtz

2012 Winner:  Jennifer Brown

2011 Winner:  Hannah Bicknell Eaton

Outstanding Senior Leadership & Professional Involvement Award - For the outstanding recreation senior who has demonstrated leadership, qualities of initiative, sound judgment, persistence, self-confidence, and a sustained enthusiasm for democratically working with groups and individuals in planning, organizing, and coordinating service and professionally oriented activities.

2018 Winner:  Brittney Viars

2017 Winner:

2016 Winner:  Chelsea Lane

2015 Winner:  Danielle Kamuf

2014 Winner:  Jayme Summers

2013 Winner:  Willis Weatheford

2012 Winner:  Bryan Klapheke

2011 Winner:  Katie Posey

Outstanding Graduate Student Award - A minimum 3.3 GPA in graduate studies at EKU. Recipient must graduate in the occurring Spring Semester, or upcoming summer or fall semester. Demonstrate successful work experience in the field of recreation, parks or leisure services. Recipient must display enthusiasm for the field and show promise as a full-time practitioner.

2018 Winner:  Erin Jones

2017 Winner:

2016 Winner:  Dylan Bogard

2015 Winner:  Justin Kurtz

2014 Winner:  Eden Fisher

2013 Winner:  Brittany Toombs

2012 Winner:  Emerson St. John

2011 Winner:  Geoff Roberts

Recreation Spirit Award - This award is presented periodically to a student who demonstrates an exceptional level of positive energy and enthusiasm for the major in the Department of Recreation and Park Administration. This student serves as a role model and leader for other students in the Department and the park and recreation profession. 

2018 Winner:  Taylor Held

2017 Winner: 

2016 Winner:  Kimberly Rhodus

2015 Winner:  Danielle Kamuf

2014 Winner:  Lindsay Dame

2013 Winner:  Sarah Bellamy

2012 Winner:  Carrie Richardson

2011 Winner:  Josh Hobbs

Civic Award - For the student that demonstrates superior civic engagement by volunteering their time to enhance the lives of others, create positive community impacts, and is a model of selflessness for others.

2018 Winner:  Matt Sabin

2017 Winner: 

2016 Winner:  Kaleb Steele

2015 Winner:  Jamison Hunt

2014 Winner:  Brandon Mandigo

Student Advisory Committee Award for Excellence - For the the student that demonstrates superior leadership, committment, and initiative in SAC and Department activities. 

2018 Winner:  Aaron Lipe

2017 Winner:

2016 Winner:  Geena Neustat

2015 Winner:  Edward Zielinski 

Blue Ribbon Award - This recommendation is very special and will only be given to students that demonstrate excellence in all Department classes. In order to receive the Blue Ribbon Recommendation, each faculty member will have to agree that your efforts in all of their classes including service learning experiences as well as REC 163 and 263 performance was excellent. Your attitude during class and “in the field” must be consistently professional, courteous, and characterized by enthusiasm for the profession.

2017 Winner:    Kenna Smith

2016 Winners:  Haley Andes & Carlie Thomas

2015 Winners:  Chelsey Lienhart & Justin Hamilton

2014 Winners:  Stephanie Cole, Brandon Mandigo & Tara Carver

2013 Winners:  Polly Whalen, Travis Rawe & Justin Kurtz

2012 Winners:  Jennifer Brown & Willis Weatherford

2011 Winners:  Morgan Thacker & Brittany Toombs

2010 Winner:    Mallory Wolfe

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/